My feelings for this cute tee-shirt will not be repressed

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”
– Mr. Darcy proposes to Elizabeth Bennet, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice

 

A break from your regularly scheduled history nerding and literary musings, because I absolutely had to wax lyrical about a ‘designer’ I’ve found on Etsy – Neena Creates. After quite literally weeks of umming and ahhhing (because they are not cheap, especially when you factor in shipping to the UK) I finally treated myself to the tank tee you see pictured, which has been silk-screen printed  with a quotation from the proposal scene in Pride and Prejudice – a piece of dialogue that still gives me the shivers to this day whenever I read it or see it acted.

If more classic literature like Austen, Bronte or Poe doesn’t float your boat, there are more modern options, like Harry Potter and Game of Thrones, and I don’t know about you, but I am already eyeing up another tank tee with the beautiful and timeless e. e. cummings “I carry your heart” quotation. My bank balance may be screaming no, but my romantic side is sighing yes!!

 

Leave a Reply

