Monthly Chat: August 2016

Collage 2016-09-01 10_25_17

What I did

I’m not quite sure where August went.

But it started off in fine fashion. My friends and their incorrigibly cute 2.5 year old daughter came to stay, along with the new addition – Baby Philip who was only about 5 weeks old. I got to steal him for newborn cuddles, while his sister trailed my husband (Oli) around all weekend, making my ovaries explode. We all went to the Cotswold Farm Park – somewhere (rightly, as it turned out) my husband and I had always felt we couldn’t really go without sprogs in tow – and made friends with some greedy goats.

Midway through the month two of my colleagues were married, and bussed in a load of us from the office for the evening reception. I do love a wedding – I am always that half-cut guest shouting at the DJ to play Whigfield’s Saturday Nightdancing with my shoes off and my dress accidentally hiked up – and this one was no exception.

Speaking of work friends, one of my best finally left us this month, off to move in with her boyfriend in London. Having moved from London to the country three years ago, it’s quite odd to watch people do it in reverse. Regardless, I dined and wined her off in fine style (twice).

Oli decided he was going to be Manly in August clearly. One weekend he went away to watch the football, and the following he went to a classic car auction. In reaction, left to my own devices, I decided to binge-watch Nashville, episodes of One Born Every Minute and experimented in making overnight oats (with mixed success). We also FINALLY got our office back following the fire (see April’s blog post) and I had a burst of writing productivity back in its designated space. I still have my suspicions that the contents storage people have misplaced an entire box of books though…

Towards the end of the month I attended a charity pub quiz for my friend who’s going over to Bangladesh for charity work. My quizzing prowess remains unchallenged as my team won, but sadly the adorable cockapoo (called Ollie!) – who clearly adored being allowed to lick someone’s face – wasn’t the first prize.

Clearly feeling like August had been a bit of an unproductive month, Oli and I took it upon ourselves to paint our garden fence “Forget Me Not” (read: blue) on Bank Holiday Monday. It turns out there is literally no level of careful you can be when painting an old fence to ensure it will not bleed through to the other side… Oh well, it served as an opportunity to meet our rear neighbours… when we went around there to give them a B&Q giftcard in grovelling apology for ruining their beautifully sage-green painted fence. Oh well, at least we didn’t go for red fence-paint – it would have looked like The Shining round there.

September is my absolute favourite month, and this year I’ve got a BBQ with all my closest friends, my wedding anniversary, a meeting with my lovely editor and Last Night of the Proms in Hyde Park all to look forward to – and that’s just the first ten days! Hopefully I’ll have a lot more to gossip about this time next month – see you then!

What I read

Chalet Girl Plays Cupid, Lorraine Wilson (☆☆☆☆)
Scorched, Erica Hayes (☆☆☆☆)
America’s First Daughter, Stephanie Dray (☆☆☆☆☆)
Thorn, Intisar Khanani (☆☆☆)
For The Most Beautiful, Emily Hauser (☆☆)
One True Loves, Taylor Jenkins Reid (☆☆☆☆)
13 Minutes, Sarah Pinborough (☆☆☆☆)
The Singalong Society for Singletons, Katey Lovell (☆☆☆☆☆)

 

What I wrote

 

I had the final read through of Bridesmaids 2, The One With The Wedding Dress to review so, yes, it is coming out in September guys! Apologies for the delay – it just felt better to have the last three coming out as close together as possible. I’ve also been beavering away at finishing off Bridesmaids 3, The One With The Hen Weekendwhich (as it is set in Paris) has seen me eating macaroons, browsing travel blogs and watching the finale of Sex & The City shamelessly, all in the name of research.

I also still have that SECRET I’ve been mentioning for a few months. If you follow this blog, it might be more because you appreciate my history fangirling than my contemporary romcoms. If so, you definitely need to watch this space….

 

What I listened to

The top tracks on my Spotify this month are basically all from Nashville, as my husband went away for two weekends in a row and I completely binged the first seasons from Sky boxsets. Not even sorry.

Leave a Reply

