Monthly Chat: June 2016

Collage 2016-06-30 17_26_40

What I did

Well… more like what DIDN’T I do in June!

The month started with a mini-break in the Surrey Hills to celebrate my mother-in-law’s 60th birthday. We rented a converted barn in a farm that dates back to the 1400s and had a great long weekend playing board games, and going for walks around the countryside. We also visited nearby Polesden Lacey (I can’t resist a National Trust!) and made it to the top of Leith Hill Tower, the highest point in South East England.

10th June was a busy, busy day for me! Renovation work at my house (following April’s fire) started in earnest, book one of the Bridesmaids series – The One With The Engagement Party – was released into the wild, and I traveled to New York, New York, so nice they named it twice, etc etc. I’ve already done a pretty comprehensive blog post dedicated to my 100 hours in the Big Apple, which you can take a gander at over here.

While I was in New York, one of my best friends, a professional lifeguard, LITERALLY saved a man’s life. And no, he wasn’t in the pool, he was in a flood-swollen river! See the whole story here. What a hero!

Well, we all know what happened in the middle of the month… I’m making a conscious decision to keep this update a Brexit-free zone! Of course, needless to say, here’s hoping it all comes out in the wash and all that. Chin up, Great Britain.

My fragile emotions were further decimated by the closing episodes of Game of Thrones. Damn, those last two installments were bloody near perfect. It’s going to be a long wait until next Spring. I can’t believe there are only two more seasons left! I’m going to have to go back and re-read all the books…

And a brilliant end to a really good month – my friend’s little boy was delivered on the 28th – now I get to have double cuddles when I visit them!

Bloody hate July. I hate my own birthday (the 6th) and with this year being the big three-oh, I feel the pressure more than usual. Somebody wake me up when it’s August? Nah, I’m only joking. I’ve got a pretty epic eighties fancy dress birthday party, plus a visit to Kellerman’s (Secret Cinema presents Dirty Dancing) – cue many puns about corners, watermelon, and similar.

PS. I’ll be in Cheltenham High Street from 10am-5pm on Saturday 2 July fundraising for the Wiggin Wheelie Big Challenge. If you’re local, or around, drop by and say hello! I’ll forcibly relieve you of all your small change, but it will be fun…! 🙂

 

What I read

Lobsters, Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison (☆☆☆☆☆)
The Boy with the Board, Katy Lovell (☆☆☆☆☆)
The Boy at the BBQ, Katey Lovell (☆☆☆☆☆)
Billy and Me, Giovanna Fletcher (☆☆☆☆)
The King Is Dead, Suzannah Lipscomb (☆☆☆☆)
Who’s That Girl? Mhairi McFarlane (☆☆☆☆☆)
Just Haven’t Met You Yet,  Cate Woods (☆☆☆☆)
The Boy and the Bridesmaid, Katey Lovell (☆☆☆☆☆)
The Gospel of Loki, Joanne M. Harris (☆☆☆)
Meternity, Meghann Foye (☆☆☆)

 

What I wrote

 

Novella #2 from the Bridesmaids series (The One With The Wedding Dress) was packed off to my editor. Coming early August… have you put a pre-order in?

I also still have that SECRET I mentioned last month. If you follow this blog, it might be more because you appreciate my history fangirling than my contemporary romcoms. If so, you definitely need to watch this space….

 

What I listened to

Top 5 tracks on my Spotify this month

  • Simple Plan, Saturday
  • Yandel, Moviendo Caderas
  • Carrie Underwood, Church Bells
  • Josh Leys, Hold On To Your Love
  • Sia, Cheap Thrills 
Leave a Reply

