The Best Thing I Never Had: The Official Soundtrack

Track 01
The White Stripes – We Are Gonna Be Friends
We don’t notice any time pass | We don’t notice anything | We sit side by side in every class

Track 02
Matchbox 20 – She’s So Mean
I know a girl, she gets what she wants all the time | Cos she’s fine | But for an angel, she’s a hot hot mess | Makes you so blind | But you don’t mind | She’s got her wicked sense of humor, can’t believe what she says | She drinks Bacardi in the morning ‘til it goes to her head | And all you want is just to hold her, but she don’t go for that | She has a hard time coming when she can’t hit back

Track 03
Liz Phair – Why Can’t I?
What if this is just the beginning? | We’re already wet, and we’re gonna go swimming | It’s inevitable, it’s a fact that we’re gonna get down to it | So tell me | Why can’t I breathe whenever I think about you?

Track 04
Fall Out Boy – A Little Less Sixteen Candles
You’re just the girl all the boys want to dance with | And I’m just the boy who’s had too many chances | So say, what are you waiting for? | Kiss her, kiss her

Track 05
The All American Rejects – Dirty Little Secret
When we live such fragile lives | It’s the best way we survive | I’ll keep you my dirty little secret | Don’t tell anyone or you’ll be just another regret

Track 06
Julie Doiron – Me And My Friend
Me and my friend, we are not friendly anymore | We have not talked for so long | And if we had to talk, what could we say, sitting side by side | So long ago, we were dancing and singing | We could be together saying nothing | And it all meant something

Track 07
Mika – My Interpretation
You talk about me, and you talk about you | And everything I do | Like it’s something, that needs repeating | I don’t need an alibi or for you to realise | The things we left unsaid | Are only taking space up in our heads | Make it my fault, win the game | Point the finger, place the blame | You toss me up and down | It doesn’t matter now | Cos I don’t care if I ever talk to you again | This is not about emotion | I don’t need a reason not to care what you say | Or what happened in the end | This is my interpretation

Track 08
Jamelia – Beware of the Dog
Well, I was damn near addicted | I got into trouble with him, I got in a bubble with him

Track 09
Pink – Who Knew?
I wish I could touch you again | I wish I could still call you friend | I’d give anything

Track 10
Anna Nalick – Bleed
Well, it takes all of my strength to be stable | And I force your insults under the table | So I’m taking my heart and I’m getting me out

Track 11
Rooster – Deep and Meaningless
You knew what you had | You still walked away leaving me in this mess | My love for you is deep and meaningless

Track 12
Adele – When We Were Young
You still look like a movie | You still sound like a song | My God, this reminds me | Of when we were young | Let me photograph you in this light | In case it is the last time | That we might be exactly like we were

Track 13
Sugababes – About You Now
Can we bring yesterday back around? | Cos I know how I feel about you now | All that it takes, one more chance | Don’t let our last kiss be our last | I know everything changes | I don’t care where it takes us

Track 14
Beyonce – The Best Thing I Never Had
Thank God I found the good in goodbye

Referenced in the story

At University

Mika – Grace Kelly
Justin Timberlake – What Goes Around
Rihanna – Umbrella
Black Eyed Peas – My Humps
The Pogues – Fairytale of New York
Mariah Carey – All I Want For Christmas Is You

At the Wedding

Akon – Smack Dat
Aerosmith – Don’t Wanna Miss A Thing
Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse of the Heart
Journey – Don’t Stop Believing 

Leave a Reply

