Monthly Chat: June 2015

Collage 2015-07-01 22_11_48

 

What I did

June was such an exciting month with the digital release of my second novel Somewhere Only We Know! I spent release day (June 11th) with the Impulse team at HarperCollins eating strawberries and pain au chocolat and quaffing prosecco whilst I hosted a virtual launch party on Facebook. A week later I was back at HarperCollins to take part in the very first Romance Festival Live! blogger and author party, where I quaffed yet more prosecco (and announced myself by spilling a glass, the shame!).  I got to see a box-load of early paperback copies of Somewhere and even sign some for the bloggers in attendance (after I demanded a bright pink sharpie to do so).

In non-bookish news, with June bringing in the warmer weather I got to break out the maxi dresses and partake of my first frozen cocktail of the season (mmm!). My husband and I also met one of my oldest friends back in my home county of Buckinghamshire and visited the beautiful Waddesdon Manor during its Feast Festival weekend (yummmm, gourmet scotch eggs!) – see my blog post about it here.

The day-job was a bit more fun this month with the inclusion of my sixteen year old sister in the office on work experience. Despite what the photograph may suggest, she did get experience of more than just plaiting my hair for me as I worked! I also finished a course and took the exam for a new professional qualification. I finished the three hour exam in 45 minutes, so I either aced it, or failed it miserably. Results are pending… Quite relieved the course is over as it was a massive time-suck (and they insisted on spelling my (married) name wrong on my name tag in a different way each and every time I attended).

A week after the exam I went to the GP with a niggling pain in my wrist that was annoying me when I tried to type… I’d reached out to steady an old man who was falling down the escalator and that pushed my hand at the wrist clean back. I thought it was just a sprain, but ten days later there I was being x-rayed, having apparently done damage to the scarphoid bone. Fun times.

It’s particularly bad timing because I’m moving house! My husband and I have bought our first home after near on a decade of tumultuous renting and we complete on July 2nd – not a bad birthday present! So June was peppered with a LOT of furniture shopping. At one point we contemplated paint for at least twenty minutes, before walking out of the shop with two tins of “Soothing White” (its actual soothing quality to be confirmed). And it also meant we had an excuse to go to IKEA, which is always fun (meatballs! confusing arrows! furniture that you’re not sure is funky or fugly!).

What I read

Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between, Jennifer E. Smith (☆☆☆)
The Wrath and the Dawn,
Renee Ahdieh (☆☆☆)
Sharp Objects,
Gillian Flynn (☆☆☆)
One,
Sarah Crossan (☆☆☆☆)
The Vintage Guide to Love and Romance,
Kirsty Greenwood (☆☆☆☆)
Uprooted,
Naomi Novik (☆☆☆☆)
Letters to the Lost,
Iona Grey (☆☆☆☆)
I Let You Go,
Clare Mackintosh (☆☆☆)
The DUFF,
Kody Keplinger (☆☆☆)
Cold Cases Solved,
Mike Riley (☆☆☆)
Juliet Immortal,
Stacey Jay (☆☆☆)
Things We Know By Heart
, Jessi Kirby (☆☆☆)
Vicious, V. E. Schwab (☆☆☆☆)

Leave a Reply

