Speak when you’re spoken to

2464125620_f5d612e326A sharp little anecdote from the tenth birthday party of “Prince David”, later Edward VIII. Seated next to his imperious grandfather Edward VII at a state banquet, the boy tried to interrupt the king, who was in the middle of one of his trademark lengthy rants.

Irritated by the interruption, Edward roared “I am the king! No one speaks when I am talking.” David meekly shut up.

Several courses later, the king finished with his harangue and turned to his grandson. “Now, David, what is it you wanted to say?”

“It’s too late now,” retorted David, further raising his grandfather’s ire.

“Don’t get snippy with me! I am the king! When I say to tell me, you tell me. Is that clear?”

It was clear. David replied that “all I wanted to say was, there was a green worm on your salad, but you’ve already eaten it.”

Leave a Reply

